Submishmash Weekly: ‘We are waiting for the stars’

09/11/2019

Submishmash Weekly is a weekly human-curated newsletter bringing news and opportunities in publishing and other creative industries to artists, filmmakers, and writers. Does your organization want to be promoted in our newsletter and on social media? Let us know! Got high-quality writing related to publishing or digital media? Consider submitting it here. New readers can subscribe here. Thanks!

Publishing & Creative News

‘It’s a freezing cold night on the shore of Lake Winnipeg in rural Manitoba, Canada, and we are waiting for the stars’ (Science Friday).

Kara Swisher: on being the best (The Cut).

Songbirds ‘don’t hatch knowing what songs to sing, or how to sing them’ (The Conversation).

What kind of notebook person are you? (The New Yorker).

The glass was his canvas and the hammer was his brush’ (Design You Trust).

Birds in art, from fanciful and symbolic to abstract (Hyperallergic).

Rebecca Solnit on how change happens (LitHub).

‘We’re still continuing this process, to be able to revitalize our language and bring it back to life again, so to speak’ (NPR).

How the graphic novel became an outlet for female shame (The Guardian).

Joining a writing critique group (Submittable).

Some Opportunities

The Mighty Line is seeking fiction and artwork that is entertaining and culturally relevant.

The New Guard is reading fiction & poetry for its annual contests judged by Richard Blanco & Elizabeth Hand.

Genre: Urban Arts seeks fiction, poetry, nonfiction, visual arts, photography, music reviews, and fashion editorials for its No. 9 Print.

The Passed Note, a journal comprised of literature for teens by adults, is looking for poetry, creative nonfiction, and fiction for its new blog series.

In an effort to hear and celebrate stories from Black girls around the world, Future Black Female is hosting a competition for essays between 1800 and 2000 words.

Open Country Press is looking for fresh, artfully constructed poetry chapbooks.

K’in is now reading fiction, poetry, creative nonfiction, and work by young writers for the November 2019 issue.

Writers, poets, artists, painters, photographers affected by chronic mental/physical illness, send your work for consideration in the inaugural 2019 issue of Ailment – Chronicles of Illness Narratives.

Typishly responds to poetry and short story submissions in one day with a personalized note.

Bridge, Chicago’s independent, intersectional art and culture journal, welcomes poetry, fiction, visual art, and visual poetry.

The CutBank Big Sky, Small Prose Flash Contest seeks interesting, compelling fiction and nonfiction prose in 750 words or fewer.

Unstamatic, a literary magazine of microfiction and photography, is looking for flash fiction of 100 words or fewer, poetry of 10 lines or fewer, and photography/art.

TRYST Gallery seeks art for a new show series based on fun combinations of musical genres.

Newfound is reading poetry chapbooks for the Gloria E. Anzaldúa prize.

The Raw Art Review seeks deflating, thrilling, and enthralling poems for the Charles Bukowski Prize for Poetry.

RedLine Contemporary Art Center is reading applications for 2020 Arts in Society funding.

For a special Maryland issue, The Baltimore Review is looking for poems, stories, and essays by Maryland writers.

Sonora Review is reading flash prose, fiction, poetry, and nonfiction.

Cleaning up Glitter seeks fiction, poetry, and art that explores life views, existence, mortality, spirituality, conflict, and more.

Press 53’s Prime 53 Poem Summer Challenge seeks poems adhering to the Prime 53 rules for publication in Prime Number Magazine.

Submittable is growing. See what opportunities are available in Missoula, Montana.

What We’re Listening To

album cover

The Submishmash Weekly Playlist is updated every Tuesday:

Yves Tumor is a god, fake evaporated footwork from DJ Spinn, late-night bleaching with Danny Brown, and more.

Follow Submittable on Spotify for all the jams and an extra special ongoing 2019 collection.

What We’re Reading

book cover

Keriann Strickland from the Marketing team recommends the Awesome Book series by Dallas Clayton.

Yes, this is a children’s book series. No, I don’t have children. But books are my go-to gift for the little humans in my life, and this series tops my most-given list. Written in the vein of Dr. Seuss and Shel Silverstein, they’re just dang fun to read aloud—exuberant, rhyming, and the right amount of silly. The colorful and imaginative illustrations always get giggles, and the messages—dreaming big, being thankful, and love—are good for any age.